8/16/14 Auburn California

What a marvelous write today.  I was able to sit down with 11 friends, some new, and explore the magic of Writing as a way of  Healing,  as we Celebrated Our Voices.  The writing was great, the feedback better and my community of writers expanded.  Thanks to all who were there (I may list them later under a different post).

I am overwhelmed by the support that I have received for my VoiceFlame trip to Malawi from the group that joined me today and other individuals in my writing circle.  I can’t say this enough, Thank You all.

To follow is a poem that I wrote this week and when I read it to the group today I realized that my journey has already begun.  I am not even returning before the expansion I hope for has begun.

On this trip, what are you leaving behind.

I am leaving the people who
have become
the family I never had.

I am leaving the friendship
and unconditional love
and safety
that buoy me.

I am leaving the support
and love
that raises an eyebrow
and says “John.”

I am leaving the foundation
that has helped me grow
in unknowable directions.

I am leaving the satisfaction
of being of service
and having purpose.

That is what you are leaving behind.

What are you hoping to find?

I am hoping to expand the satisfaction
of being of service
and having purpose.

I am hoping to expand my foundation
that will help me grow
in unknowable directions.

I hope to expand the support
and love
that can raise an eyebrow
and say “John”

I am hoping to expand my friendships
and the unconditional love
and safety
that buoy me here.

I hope to find People who
can become an expansion
of my family here.

I am leaving with a heart full
of what I leave behind
and hope in coming back
to have been
expanded.


Leave a comment