Q Malewez

On September 16, Q Malewez, a well known Malawian poet and music producer-songwriter joined VoiceFlame at Jacaranda School for Orphans. He and Mary Tucscherer met in Llongwe and he was intrigued by what Mary had told him about the Amherst Writers and Artists (AWA) method. Q joined us so that he could experience the AWA method for himself. It was an honor and a treat to write with him that day, he has become one of my literary heroes. For more information about him please see this posting: http://www.malawi-music.com/component/muscol/Q/231-q-malewezi/ Q was instantly recognized by the students and faculty who prevailed upon him to say a few words to the school. I was able to video tape his words but the quality is marginal so I won’t include it (if you want to hear it and can understand chichewe, let me know and I will pass it on.) When he was done inspiring the gathering, someone in the crowd called out, “One poem one poem from Q, one free style poem from Q,” which turned in to a chant. this I did get on tape.

Leave a comment